CNA News Room

CNA celebrates outstanding class of Fellows

August 23, 2023 — The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) is pleased to announce the 2023 class of Fellows.

The Canadian Academy of Nursing is inducting 21 remarkable nurses for this year’s class of Fellows. Fellows are among the most accomplished nurses in our country and their successful nominations reflect careers of sustained impact across nursing and health systems.

The 2023 Fellows and 2022 CNA award recipients will be recognized for their accomplishments and dedication to the profession during a virtual ceremony on October 4, 2023.

“It is my pleasure to announce the Canadian Academy of Nursing class of Fellows,” said CNA president Sylvain Brousseau. “I look forward to recognizing the accomplishments of these exceptional nurses at our upcoming induction ceremony. Congratulations!”

“It will be a privilege to induct new Fellows to the Canadian Academy of Nursing and recognize the recipients of CNA’s highly esteemed awards,” said CNA CEO Tim Guest. “We are thrilled to celebrate such an amazing group of nursing leaders. Congratulations on all of your accomplishments!”

2023 class of Fellows

Rosetta Antonacci, RN, BScN, MScAdm
Megan Aston, RN, PhD
Veronique Boscart, RN, PhD
Laurie Clune, RN, PhD
Tracey JF Colella, RN, MScN, ACNP, PhD
Edward Venzon Cruz, RN, CCNE, PhD
Suzanne Dupuis-Blanchard, RN, PhD
Cheryl Forchuk, RN, PhD, OOnt, FCAHS
Suzanne Fredericks, RN, PhD, FESC
Manal Kleib, RN, MSN, MBA, PhD
Sara Lankshear, RN, PhD
Sylvie Le May, RN, PhD
Kelly Metcalfe, RN, PhD
Monica Parry, NP-Adult, PhD, CCN(C), FAAN
Alison Phinney, RN, PhD
Kelly Scott-Storey, RN, PhD
Debra Sheets, RN, PhD, MSN, FAAN
Terri Stuart-McEwan, RN, BScN, MHS, CHE
Mandana Vahabi, RN, PhD
Kimberley Widger, RN, PhD, CHPCN(C)
Josephine Pui-Hing Wong, RN, BScN, MScN, PhD

2022 CNA award recipients

Jeanne Mance Award: Kathleen MacMillan, RN (retired), PhD, FAAN, FCAN 
Order of Merit for Nursing Administration: Maureen Cava, RN, BScN, MScN 
Order of Merit for Nursing Education: Lorelli Nowell, RN, MN, PhD
Order of Merit for Nursing Research: Kelly Metcalfe, RN, PhD, FAAN, FCAHS

After the induction ceremony, Fellows will earn the right to use the credential Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Nursing (FCAN).


About the Canadian Nurses Association
CNA is the national and global professional voice of Canadian nursing. Our mission is to advance the nursing profession to improve health outcomes in Canada’s publicly funded, not-for-profit health system. CNA is the only national association that speaks for all types of nurses across all 13 provinces and territories. We represent nurses that are unionized and non-unionized, retired nurses, nursing students, and all categories of nurses (registered nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed and registered practical nurses, and registered psychiatric nurses).

About the Canadian Academy of Nursing
The Canadian Nurses Association established the Canadian Academy of Nursing as the first pan-Canadian organization dedicated to identifying, educating, supporting, and celebrating nursing leaders across all the regulated categories and all domains of practice. The Academy’s Fellowship program recognizes the most accomplished nurses in Canada.

For more information, please contact:
Amber Morley
Media and Communications Coordinator
Cell: 613-282-7859