Certification Nursing Practice Specialties

Certification Nursing Practice Specialties

The CNA Certification Program consists of 22 nursing practice specialties, with 19 exams offered. For most of the program’s 29-year history, certification has been only available to registered nurses and nurse practitioners. We are pleased to now offer several certification exams to licensed practical nurses, registered practical nurses and registered psychiatric nurses.

In 2019 we introduced certification in gerontology to licensed/registered practical nurses; in 2020 we added medical-surgical nursing. Certification for registered psychiatric nurses began in 2020 with exams offered in gerontology as well as psychiatric and mental health nursing.

The list of certifications in nursing practice specialities is found below, along with a note identifying which is available to licensed/registered practical nurses or registered psychiatric nurses.

Once certified, you can proudly use the credentials associated with your specialty after your name.

Cardiovascular CCN(C) ® Certified in Cardiovascular Nursing (C)anada
Community Health CCHN(C) ® Certified in Community Health Nursing (C)anada
Critical Care CNCC(C) ® Certified Nurse in Critical Care (C)anada
Critical Care Pediatrics CNCCP(C) ® Certified Nurse in Critical Care Pediatrics (C)anada
Emergency ENC(C) ® Emergency Nurse Certified (C)anada
Gastroenterology — renewal by CL hours only* CGN(C) ® Certified in Gastroenterology Nursing (C)anada
for registered nurses, registered psychiatric nurses and nurse practitioners
GNC(C) ® Gerontological Nurse Certified (C)anada
for licensed/registered practical nurses
GPNC(C) ® Gerontology Practical Nurse Certified (C)anada
Hospice Palliative Care CHPCN(C) ® Certified in Hospice Palliative Care Nursing (C)anada
for registered nurses and nurse practitioners
CMSN(C) ® Certified in Medical-Surgical Nursing (C)anada
Medical-Surgical Nursing
for licensed/registered practical nurses
MSPNC(C) ® Medical-Surgical Practical Nurse Certified (C)anada
Neonatal CNeoN(C) ® Certified in Neonatal Nursing (C)anada
Nephrology CNeph(C) ® Certified in Nephrology (C)anada
Neuroscience — renewal by CL hours only* CNN(C) ® Certified in Neuroscience Nursing (C)anada
Occupational Health COHN(C) ® Certified in Occupational Health Nursing (C)anada
Oncology CON(C) ® Certified in Oncology Nursing (C)anada
Orthopaedics — renewal by CL hours only* ONC(C) ® Orthopaedic in Nursing Certified (C)anada
Pediatrics CpedN(C) ® Certified in Pediatric Nursing (C)anada
PeriAnesthesia — renewal by CL hours only* PANC(C) ® PeriAnesthesia Nurse Certified (C)anada
Perinatal PNC(C) ® Perinatal Nurse Certified (C)anada
Perioperative CPN(C) ® Certified in Perioperative Nursing (C)anada
Psychiatric and Mental Health
for registered nurses, registered psychiatric nurses and nurse practitioners
CPMHN(C) ® Certified in Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing (C)anada
Rehabilitation — renewal by CL hours only* CRN(C) ® Certified in Rehabilitation Nursing (C)anada
Wound, Ostomy and Continence WOCC(C) ® Wound, Ostomy and Continence Certified (C)anada

® Registered trademarks of the Canadian Nurses Association.

There is a national association for each specialty, collectively forming part of CNA’s Canadian Network of Nursing Specialties. If you’re not already a member of your specialty association, learn more about how membership will benefit you professionally — especially if you are still considering certification.

*Exams were retired in November 2019. Nurses certified in any of these five specialties can maintain their credential by renewing every five years through continuous learning only.