CNA News Room

Outstanding group of nurses named the second class of Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Nursing

June 15, 2021 — The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) is delighted to announce the second annual class of Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Nursing. The Academy was established in November 2019 and is the first pan-Canadian organization dedicated to identifying, educating, supporting, and celebrating nursing leaders across all the regulated categories and domains of practice. The Fellows are among the most accomplished nurses in our country and their successful nominations reflect careers of sustained impact across nursing and health systems in any of the given domains of practice.

To become a Fellow, candidates made a rigorous submission to the Academy, which included the support of two nominators. The decision to select candidates for Fellowship was based on their demonstration of substantial and sustained contributions and commitments to advancing the nursing profession.

The 38 Fellows in the Class of 2021 are:

  • Harrison Applin
  • R. Lisa (Mona) Bourque Bearskin
  • Karen Breen-Reid
  • Lorna Butler
  • Marcia Carr
  • Sandra Davidson
  • Gail Donner
  • Susan Duncan
  • Josephine Etowa
  • Bonnie Fleming-Carroll
  • Alice Gaudine
  • Lan Gien
  • Leila Gillis
  • Balbir Gurm
  • Sepali Guruge
  • Kris Gustavson
  • Fiona Hanley
  • Dave Holmes
  • Susan Jack
  • Beverley-Tracey John
  • Joan Kingston
  • Christine Laliberté
  • Mélanie Lavoie-Tremblay
  • Donna Martin
  • Gail Tomblin Murphy
  • Linda O’Brien-Pallas
  • Bernadette Pauly
  • J. Craig Phillips
  • Sheri Price
  • Shahirose Premji
  • Annette Elliott Rose
  • Josette Roussel
  • Oluwabukola (Bukola) Oladunni Salami
  • Roger Scott
  • Erna Snelgrove-Clarke
  • Janet E. Squires
  • Rani Srivastava
  • Karima Velji

We will celebrate this new class of Fellows in a virtual induction ceremony on October 15, 2021, from 12:00 to 14:30 p.m. ET. Details will be posted on the Canadian Academy of Nursing pages of the CNA website later this summer.
Joining the 2021 class of Fellows are the Academy’s first two Honorary Fellows. Appointed by the CNA board of directors, our honourees are Madeleine Kétéskwew Dion Stout from Canada, and Dr. Sheila Dinotshe Tlou from Botswana.

Dion Stout was born on the Kehewin First Nation in Alberta, and is a Cree author, teacher, leader, and nurse. Her decades of work as an educator, reformer and policy leader have changed the lives of Indigenous Peoples and Canadian society at large. Along with receiving numerous honorary degrees, Dr. Dion Stout was appointed to the Order of Canada in 2015.

Dr. Tlou has just made Avance Media’s list of 100 Most Influential African Women. She is the co-chair of the Global HIV Prevention Coalition and the co-chair of the Nursing Now global campaign. She is a former member of Parliament and minister of health of the Republic of Botswana (2004-2008). During her term as health minister and chair of the Southern African Development Community and the African Union Ministers of Health, Dr. Tlou contributed to the improvement of global health care, especially for women and girls.

The Canadian Nurses Association, board of directors, and Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Nursing are delighted to welcome the incoming class of Fellows and congratulate our first Honorary Fellows.


About the Canadian Nurses Association
The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) is the national and global professional voice of Canadian nursing. We represent registered nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed and registered practical nurses, registered psychiatric nurses and retired nurses across all 13 provinces and territories.

For more information, please contact:
Eve Johnston
Media and Communications Advisor
Canadian Nurses Association
Cell: 613-282-7859