CNA News Room

Incredible group of nurses receive CNA awards

December 7, 2022 — The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) is pleased to announce that four incredible nursing leaders have been recognized for their great contributions to the nursing profession and health care.

“CNA’s board of directors have the distinct pleasure to honour such incredible nurses,” said Sylvain Brousseau, CNA president. “The Jeanne Mance Award and the CNA Order of Merit awards recognize those who have made important contributions to our nursing profession.”

Jeanne Mance Award

Since 1971, CNA has honoured nurses with the Jeanne Mance Award, named after one of Canada’s most inspirational nurses. Nurses nominated for this prestigious award have made significant and innovative contributions to the health of Canadians. They have worked to increase the public recognition and awareness of the nursing profession and have positively influenced nursing practice in Canada and abroad.

The 2022 Jeanne Mance Award goes to Kathleen MacMillan, PhD, FAAN, FCAN. Kathleen MacMillan’s nursing career spans more than 50 years in all practice domains and several jurisdictions. A voracious reader and lifelong learner, Kathleen graduated from a hospital diploma nursing program, obtained a B.Sc. in general science, an MA in anthropology, an MScN and a PhD. Along this journey she received no fewer than 15 educational awards.

Order of Merit awards

The CNA Order of Merit awards were inaugurated in 2008. These awards honour excellence in several domains of nursing practice.. The awards were created to honour nurses who, through hard work, leadership, innovation and knowledge, have had a significant and sustained impact on the nursing profession and the practice of nursing in Canada.

  • Order of Merit for Nursing Administration: Maureen Cava, RN, BScN, MScN. Maureen Cava’s nursing career has spanned 45 years, 30 of which was in public health practice in Ontario. She retired in 2018 from Toronto Public Health as the manager of professional development and education. She holds undergraduate and graduate degrees in nursing. Her leadership in the development of a professional practice model for public health was ground-breaking for public health practice.
  • Order of Merit for Nursing Education: Lorelli Nowell, RN, PhD. Lorelli Nowell began her nursing career in 2000 following completion of her BSN at Thompson Rivers University, Kamloops, B.C. Her love of nursing and passion for lifelong learning fuelled her advanced education, culminating in an MN degree in 2012 and a PhD in nursing in 2017. Throughout her academic career, she has always focused on mentorship, professional development, and innovative teaching and learning.
  • Order of Merit for Nursing Research: Kelly Metcalfe, RN, PhD, FAAN, FCAHS. Kelly Metcalfe researches the risks, prevention and treatment of hereditary breast cancers, particularly BRCA1 and BRCA2 associated cancers. She leads large national and international research studies, mentors young researchers, teaches university courses, and counsels women with hereditary breast cancer. Appointed as assistant professor to the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Nursing in 2002, she became full professor in 2013 and is currently the associate dean of research and external relations


About the Canadian Nurses Association
CNA is the national and global professional voice of Canadian nursing. Our mission is to advance the nursing profession to improve health outcomes in Canada’s publicly funded, not-for-profit health system. CNA is the only national association that speaks for all types of nurses across all 13 provinces and territories. We represent nurses that are unionized and non-unionized, retired nurses, nursing students, and all categories of nurses (registered nurses, nurse practitioners, licensed and registered practical nurses, and registered psychiatric nurses).

For more information, please contact:
Lucas Veiga
Public Affairs Lead
Cell: 613-697-7497